Of Red Gods And Echoes

I may have been slightly hasty in my last post – an accusation not often leveled at my running pace. I could be accused of giving the impression that the 20kms (near enough) I stumbled through on the VWS trail challenge were really tough.

Foolish, foolish boy.

Yesterday (Saturday) morning I headed out on a part-training part-recce run to try and keep up the learning prior to the 50km mountain madness looming in three weeks time.

I learned quite a lot.

The first thing I learned is that I have a lot of learning still to do.

The second thing I learned is that I am horribly unprepared for The Beast.

The third thing I learned is that there is something I like about the climb (and the descent) of nursery ravine. And that thing is…fuck all.

We covered 27km yesterday morning…in about the same time that it took me to complete 56km at Two Oceans this year. Over five hours on my legs and with vertical climbing of close to 2km.

I should probably put the timings into perspective for those of you reading this who don’t do a lot of running (assuming you haven’t already chewed off your own faces or unfollowed out of sheer boredom).

My best time for a half marathon is just under one hour and forty minutes. About 1:37 let’s say. This would bring me in at about 1:32 for 20km.

Last week at the VWS I did 20km (which on my watch was 19km but it’s a lying bastard) in about 2:36.

Yesterday I covered 20km in…3:42.

By the time we got to the end at Newlands Forest I was ready to curl up into a ball and never run again. Somehow, in three weeks time, I have to find the strength to do the same run and then throw in another 23km and another kilometre or more of climbing.

And yet…and yet…

With all that terror eating away at my brain there’s still a part of me that realizes how fortunate I am to live where I do, to be in reasonable health and to have a few friends crazy enough to talk me into this stuff.

I mean…why would you not want to be above the clouds?

…and how’s this for a view when you’re eating your breakfast?

…and why wouldn’t your ridiculously orange shoes not want to go down these slightly slippery and terrifying steps after four hours of slog that have turned your legs to jelly?

…especially as the view half way down looks like this…

A day later and already I’m looking forward to next week.

There is no hope for me.

…but given I’ve just been scribbling down the vague story idea of a small gremlin who lives inside a scrotum that’s probably not exactly news.

2 thoughts on “Of Red Gods And Echoes

Add yours

  1. Omg, Nik. You’re crazy. I love the orange shoes! The views are magnificent, but you are clearly insane. Still rooting you on though! Three weeks? You’re gonna be awesome! 😀 (also looking forward to the scrotum gremlin)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping their orangeness is going to fade a little over the coming weeks! Still – saves on a headlamp as they practically glow in the dark 🙂 Thanks for the pep talk – my terror hasn’t abated much but I guess you don’t know until you try…

      Will do some more gremlin scribbling later tonight with a bit of luck…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

